It`s sunshine as normal as runners and walkers take to the streets of Kells for the Royal County 5k & 10k events.

With summer finally arriving, runners and walkers took to the streets of Kells on Bank Holiday Monday last for this the 8th year of the Royal County event.

With local clubs of Bohermeen, Dunshaughlin and Navan athletic clubs out in force, it wasn`t a surprise to see familiar faces vying for podium finishes in all categories.

Jeff Ennis (no club) stormed home in the 10k event with a strong finish to beat last year`s winner – David O Connell from Bohermeen AC into 3nd place. Shane Boyle (now on his 3rd win in the 5k distance) from the Dunshaughlin AC put in a tremendous run to win the 5k in a time of 17:29 (3 seconds outside of his winning time last year).

Cailin McDonagh from Fr. Murphy AC dominated the 10k event to romp home in a winning time of 43:29 and evergreen Josephine Killeen from Dublin leading the ladies home in the 5k event in a time of 21:12 seconds. With a higher number of U16 participants than other years, Pawel Krakowiak from Dunshaughlin had his work cut out to win the Junior 5k category in a time of 22:53. Tremendous running from the 14 year old.

Massive congratulations are extended to Saheed Alawiye  (Beaufort Blazers) who was first across the line in the Wheelchair event. Saheed entered the 5km distance and together with his mentor, PE teacher Ger Murphy completed the distance to great applause from his colleagues as he crossed the finish line.

Podium finishers and category winners:

Overall – 10k Male:   

1st Jeff Ennis (no club) 37:27

2nd David O Connell (Bohermeen AC) 38:52

3rd Barry Waters (Navan AC) 38:40

5k Male:    

1st Shane Boyle (Dunshaughlin AC) 17:29

2nd Lea Fulchar (Liffey Valley) 18:38

3rd James Sherlock (no club) 18:46

10k Female

1st Cailin McDonagh (Fr Murphy AC) 43:29

2nd Paula Guinan (no club) 45:42

3rd Kay Smith (no club) 47:06

5k Female

1st Josephine Killeen (no club) 21:12

2nd Fiona Nugent (no club) 21:19

3rd Bridget Daly (Bohermeen AC) 21:28

Category winners:


M40:               Shane McCabe (Bohermeen AC) 38:57

M50:               Jim McArdle (No Club) 41:23

M60:               Pat Ryan (Dunboyne AC) 50:06


M40:               Anthony Corrigan (Bohermeen AC) 19:12

M50:               Pat Kiernan (Kells) 21:12

M60:               Michael Murray (No club) 31:14


F40:                Chris Perrie (Bohermeen AC) 49:36

F50:                Linda Gunning (Bohermeen AC) 50:12

F60:                Kathleen Burke (Dunshaughlin AC) 55:10


F40:                Breda Kelly (Virginia Tri & Cycle club) 26:54

F50:                Margaret Clarke (No Club) 24:59

F60:                Noreen Doherty (No Club) 33:11


The organisers – Meath Local Sports Partnership extended their congratulations to all the winners and expressed thanks to Brian and Paul of ClubActive Kells for sponsoring each of the prizes.

Special mention to the students and staff (Beaufort Blazers) from Beaufort College secondary school, Navan who have been participating in the Couch to 5k initiative in their school over  the past few weeks in preparation for the 10k and 5k distances – well done to all. Congratulations to Ger Murphy (the infectious dynamic PE teacher) had a personal best in finishing 2nd in the F60 category.

Full Results are available on Many thanks to photographer Bernard Hand for giving of his time to capture the atmosphere and winners and participants from the day itself.

Meath LSP also expressed their thanks to all who supported the event in particular to St Brigid`s AC; Kells Gardai; Civil Defence; Kells Municipal District Council and local volunteers. Special acknowledgement to Vincent and Olivia Duff and staff of the Headfort Arms Hotel who kindly opened their facilities for  registration and provided much needed refreshments afterwards free of charge to all the participants.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.